top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Harbour

Our First Pup

Well, me and blogging (or really posting anything online) seem to be something that is a challenge, even once I've decided to give it a try.  So we'll see how this goes.



I've always loved dogs, and growing up I was blessed to have dogs around all the time.  However, when I got married, I realized for the first time, I'd be without a dog.  This was not something I intended to allow last for too long though, and I started looking at options.  After much research and discussion, we decided on German Shepherds.  As I looked into it further, I found that there were many beautiful coloration of this intelligent dog.  I was especially drawn to the black, silver, and white colorations.  Black dogs, especially big black dogs, are often something people fear as well, so that color was ruled out.  Silvers too, were ruled because as pretty as they are, due to the fact that they looked very much like the coyotes that ran around in the fields.  So that left us with white.

It was with great expectation that our little white pup, Shisa, finally arrived in the spring of 2016.  Shisa quickly bonded with us, and brought much laughter and smiles in her antics.  The cats weren't sure what to think about this intruder, especially since we were living in a camping trailer while our house was under construction.  With limited space that was now shared by yet another, one cat chose to simply avoid the puppy.  The other however was quite determined to put the puppy in her place, and would deliberately cause trouble when possible.  Eventually though, all the animals though settled down and got along, or at least had a truce.



We quickly found that we had gotten a very hyperactive little thing.  Shisa always seemed to have more energy, which due to the fact we have so much land to take walks and explore on, turned out to be quite a good thing.  Having a ball of fur to walk helped motivate us to go for more walks. Shisa loved going to anywhere with water even more than just going on walks.  If there was water, she just had to be in it.  I quickly decided that at least till she got older, walks that went near water were to be avoided on cold days, to ensure she wouldn't get a cold.

Farm life meant that more animals would soon be around though, and it wasn't long till horses, cattle, and poultry were introduced to Shisa.  She wasn't sure what to think of cattle, and horses were too curious for her comfort, but guineas were more her size.  She was soon taught they were to be left alone, and I'd find her lounging on our steps while the birds walked around looking for bugs.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page